Harish Jharia

Translate this article in your own language...

Search This Blog

10 March 2011

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011: Group – B Match India beat Netherlands by 5 wickets on 9 March 2011

Yuvraj against Netherlands

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011: Group – B Match India beat Netherlands by 5 wickets on 9 March 2011

Netherlands 189 (46.4 overs)
India 191/5 (36.3 overs) 

Winning the toss, the Netherlands captain elected to bat first. The Netherlands batting lineup crashed to a score of 189 off merely 38 overs.  Zaheer Khan took three wickets for 20 runs to help India bowl out the Netherlands for 189 at the Ferozeshah Kotla stadium, New Delhi, India.

Chasing a modest target of 190 to win, India got an aggressive start by the openers Virender Sehwag (39 off 26 balls) and Sachin Tendulkar (27 off 22 balls). India apparently appeared to have a dedicated strategy of aggressive batting and scoring as many run as possible off as less as possible balls. Indian captain and the stalwarts like Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag collectively implemented their mission of increasing their Run Rate RR and the resultant Net Run Rate NRR

Indian openers obviously and unambiguously exhibited their global status in ODI by hitting at the balls rather furiously and in a carefree manner. The captain made it even more apparent by sending Yusuf Pathan from his usual 6th position to the 3rd and showed off explosive batting. India scored 69 runs in just 7.3 overs until Pieter Seelaar took 3 wickets and the 4th wicket was claimed by Peter Borren leaving India at a score of 99/4 at one point. The run machine was reactivated by Yuvraj Singh who eventually escorted team India to the 5 wicket victory over Netherlands with 81 balls to spare. 

By winning this match with a dedicated strategy India were promoted to the top slot in Group – B with 7 points and also enhanced their NRR + 0.992 (Previous NRR + 0.870) 

Playing in his 40th World Cup match, Sachin Tendulkar made another record scoring 2,000 runs in the World Cup, in style by smashing Ryan ten Doeschate for three consecutive boundaries.


E. Szwarczynski b Chawla 28
W. Barresi lbw b Yuvraj 26
T. Cooper c Dhoni b Nehra 29
R. ten Doeschate c Zaheer b Yuvraj 11
A. Kervezee c Harbhajan b Chawla 11
B. Zuiderent lbw b Zaheer 0
T. de Grooth run out 5
P. Borren c Nehra b Zaheer 38
B. Kruger run out 8
Mudassar Bukhari b Zaheer 21
P. Seelaar not out 0

(Extras: (b6, lb3, w2, nb1) 12, Total (all out; 46.4 overs) 189)

Bowling: Zaheer 6.4-0-20-3, Nehra 5-1-22-1, Pathan 6-1-17-0, Harbhajan 10-0-31-0 (w2), Chawla 10-0-47-2 (nb1), Yuvraj 9-1-43-2.


V. Sehwag c Kervezee b Seelaar 39
S. Tendulkar c Kruger b Seelaar 27
Y. Pathan c and b Seelaar 11
G. Gambhir b Bukhari 28
V. Kohli b Borren 12
Yuvraj Singh not out 51
MS Dhoni not out 19

(Extras: (w4) 4, Total (for five wickets; 36.3 overs) 191)

Bowling: Bukhari 6-1-33-1 (w2), ten Doeschate 7-0-38-0 (w2), Seelaar 10-1-53-3, Borren 8-0-33-1, Cooper 2-0-11-0, Kruger 3.3-0-23-0.
Indian Team: MS Dhoni (capt/wk), Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Piyush Chawla, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra.

Netherlands Team: Peter Borren (Capt), Wesley Baressi (wk), Mudassar Bukhari, Atse Buurman Tom Cooper, Tom de Grooth, Alexei Kervezee, Bradley Kruger, Pieter Seelaar, Eric Swarczynski, Ryan Ten Doeschate, Bas Zuiderent.

No comments:

Post a Comment