Harish Jharia

Translate this article in your own language...

Search This Blog

21 March 2011

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011: Review Group- B League match between India v/s West Indies on 20 March 2011

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011: Review
Group- B League match between India v/s West Indies on 20 March 2011

India v/s West Indies Group- B league match was played on 20 March 2011 at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai. Indian captain Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat first. India won this match by 80 runs scoring 268/10 off 49.1 overs against West Indies’ pathetic total of 188/10 in 43 overs.

It was a great celebration at the exciting moment when Ravi Rampaul was bowled out by R Ashwin at his score of 1 run off 4 balls. With the departure of Rampaul, the West Indies were all out at 43 overs, leaving 7 overs of balls left for India yet to be bowled.  West Indies lost their 6 wickets in quick succession without breaking single digit score by individual batsmen. The overall performance of Indian bowlers was excellent and effective. 

The victory was a huge achievement. Yet it was not that outstanding win that could hide the blunders committed by the team management during the batting by India. India lacked in the expertise to exploit the ‘Power Play’ configurations available to the batting side. Keeping aside the departure of Tendulkar at 2 off 4 balls, the last 6 batsmen did not play tactfully and were overpowered by the opponent bowlers, sending them back to the pavilion with rock bottom scores. Indian batsmen obviously lacked patience and cool that is expected from the middle order batsman. 

Indian team will have to display team spirit and collective fight rather than depending on huge scores by Tendulkar, Sehwag, Gambhir and of course Yuvraj Singh who was the torchbearer for this nail biting win by India. 

India Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Sachin Tendulkar, 0.6overs) , 2-51 (Gautam Gambhir, 8.3overs) , 3-173 (Virat Kohli, 32.2overs) , 4-218 (MS Dhoni, 41.4overs) , 5-232 (Suresh Raina, 43.5overs) , 6-240 (Yuvraj Singh, 44.6overs) , 7-251 (Yusuf Pathan, 46.4overs) , 8-259 (Harbhajan Singh, 47.5overs) , 9-267 (Zaheer Khan, 48.5overs) , 10-268 (Munaf Patel, 49.1overs)

India Bowling: Ashwin (1 W, 10 Overs, 41 Runs); Harbhajan Singh (1 W, 8 Overs, 35 Runs); Munaf Patel (1 W, 5 Overs, 20 Runs); Zaheer Khan (2 W, 6 Overs, 26 Runs)

No comments:

Post a Comment