Harish Jharia

Translate this article in your own language...

Search This Blog

19 March 2012

Asia Cup cricket 2012: Virat Kohli blasts Pakistan bowling and authored a historic victory for India against Pakistan

© Harish Jharia 

India won this crucial cricket match in Asia cup Cricket 2012, defeating their archrival Pakistan by 6 wickets in an breathtaking aggressive innings played by indian batsmen.  Virat Kohly did the same firework against Pakistan at Mirpur, what he did at Hobart against the Lankans. 

Chasing a mammoth target of 330 to stay alive in the Asia Cup  tournament, India comfortably chased the 330 spot and  propelled India to an enormous 6 wicket victory with Virat Kohli’s magnificent 183 off 148, Rohit Sharma’s 68 (83b) and Sachin Tendulkar’s confident 52 (48b). 

             Man of the match Virat Kohli

Pakistan amassed 330 run targets for India by scoring 329 with the help of a double century partnership between Mohammed Hafeez 105 (113b) and Nasir Jamshed 112 (104b) followed by an explosive run harvesting spree of 52 off 34 balls from Younis Khan later in the innings.

Nevertheless, in spite of a century each, scored by the openers, Pakistan’s opening betting was looking dull and defensive. Their play appeared to be a sort of net-practice rather than a crucial Asia Cup match that was going to decide the fate of Indian team in the tournament. 

Viewers present in the stadium and the millions cricket enthusiasts watching live telecasts at their homes, across the world, did not find Pakistan’s opening entertaining and exciting. 

Suresh Raina’s one handed Catch to dismiss Younis Khan

On the other hand, the Indian batting between Sachin Tendulkar and Virat Kohli, followed by Rohit Sharma and Suresh Raina was explosive and a real super entertainment for everyone including the viewers and the players themselves. 

This aggressive betting sprit was constantly maintained by the batsmen who came afterwards.   . In fact the unfortunate LBW dismissal of Gautam Gambhir was also a result of the aggressive and lively betting exhibited by Indian openers.  

India: G Gambhir, S Tendulkar, V Kohli, R Sharma, S Raina, MS Dhoni (C), Y Pathan, I Pathan, R Ashwin, P Kumar, A Dinda
Pakistan: Mohammad Hafeez, Nasir Jamshed, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq (C), Umar Akmal, Hammad Azam, Shahid Afridi, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Aizaz Cheema, Wahab Riaz.

1 comment:

  1. Good sport... May I share an article on Tokyo Towers in https://stenote.blogspot.com/2018/03/tokyo-seen-from-tokyo-tower.html
    Watch also the video in youtube https://youtu.be/28hz6ndPV_g