Harish Jharia

Translate this article in your own language...

Search This Blog

23 February 2011

What is ‘Free Hit’ in ODIs One day international Cricket matches and T20 Twenty-Twenty cricket matches?

Sachin Tendulkar hitting the ball hard...

What is ‘Free Hit’ in ODIs One day international Cricket matches and T20 Twenty-Twenty cricket matches?

If a bowler delivers a no ball by overstepping the popping crease, it costs 1 run to his team and his next delivery will be declared as a free-hit. That means, in the next delivery, the batsman can hit the ball in any manner to score maximum runs like a boundary or a sixer.  In case of a free hit the batsman can only be dismissed through a run out, for hitting the ball twice, obstructing the field or handling the ball, as in case for a ‘no ball’. 


This rule of ‘free hit’ was first introduced in twenty20 cricket, ever since that shortest format of International cricket started. ICC introduced the rule of free-hit in one day cricket (ODI), from 1st October 2007. 


--------------------------------------------------
Disclaimer:
This article is written based on my personal observations and on the information collected from the media. My intention for publishing the same is to provide healthy reading and intellectual entertainment and not for educating the visitors. No literature or authentic books have been referred for writing the contents of this article. The visitors are advised not to refer the contents of this article for any research or testimony on athletic or legal purposes. The visitors are further advised to consult relevant experts before adapting any information from this article. The author or the website are not responsible for any errors, mistakes, or omissions there in.
- Harish Jharia
-------------------------------------------------
npad

No comments:

Post a Comment