Harish Jharia

Translate this article in your own language...

Search This Blog

20 September 2012

Commonwealth Games Delhi 2010: difference between United Kingdom, Great Britain, Northern Ireland and England... participating individually in sports events

- Harish Jharia 

    Flag of United Kingdom*

In fact, the official name of the country is "United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland." The United Kingdom is a country that consists of the following big islands:
  1. Great Britain 
  2. Northern Ireland. 
Flag of Northern Ireland*

Great Britain: Great Britain is the name of the island northwest of France and east of Ireland that consists of three somewhat autonomous regions as follows: 
  1. England
  2. Wales 
  3. Scotland
           Flag of England*

              Flag of Wales*

             Flag of Scotland*

England: Eventually, England is a part of Great Britain, which is part of the United Kingdom (UK) that includes England, Wales, Scotland, and Northern Ireland. 
England, Wales, Scotland, and Northern Ireland are not countries whereas the United Kingdom is. 
The remaining portion of the island of Ireland (that which is not the U.K.'s Northern Ireland) is an independent country called the Republic of Ireland (Eire).

Click here to read a connected article:
All the 71 nations will be present in CWG Delhi:

No comments:

Post a Comment